Clay Paky Knight of Illumination Awards Announced

by PLSN Staff • in
  • News
• Created: September 29, 2009

Share This:

LONDON — The second annual Knight of Illumination Awards, organized by Clay Paky in collaboration with the Association of Lighting Designers (ALD) and the Society of Television Lighting and Design (STLD), was held at the Ibis Hotel during PLASA 2009.

The awards recognize lighting designers in theatre, touring and television. About 350 people attended, including lighting designers, manufacturers, rental companies, dealers, trade associations and media.


Stuart Gain (television), Durham Marenghi (touring), Rick Fisher (theatre) and John Watt (Lifetime Recognition Award) chaired the event. Among the guests were the Italian Consul General for London Uberto Vanni D’Archirafi, the CEO of PLASA Matthew Griffiths, the CEO of ABTT Mark White, the executive director of the Theatres Trust Mhora Samuel and Hans-Joachim Schwabe, Deputy Chairman and CEO of Osram, the official sponsor of the evening.

Among the 12 award-winning LDs were four TV LDs, four theatre LDs, three touring LDs and a special lifetime recognition award recipient. They were chosen from among 30 nominees by a panel of judges.

The winners were:
Television — Drama: John O’Brien for The Bill
Television — Entertainment: Chris Kempton for Jonathan Ross
Television — Musical Program: Will Charles for The Album Chart Show
Television — Events: Gurdip Mahal for BBC Sports Personality
Touring — Stage: Rob Sinclair for Goldfrapp
Touring — Arena: Davy Sherwin for Snow Patrol
Touring — “Eco Friendly Tour:” Andi Watson for Radiohead
Theatre — Dance: Michael Hulls for Eonnagata
Theatre — Opera: Adam Silverman for Peter Grimes
Theatre — Drama: Jon Clark for Three Days of Rain
Theatre — Musical: Kevin Adams for Spring Awakening
Lifetime Recognition: Mark White


Share This:

Leave a Comment:

Check Out Some Past PLSN Issues